The Oscars Suck So I Made My Own

I hate the Oscars. Hate them for being so amazingly out of touch with reality. They’re filled with…I don’t want to call them artsy and mean it as an insult, but I’m not really sure what else to call them.

I’m talking about the movies that you can tell from the trailer is Oscar material. Dramatic, tense, tugging at the heartstrings. These are all hints. Especially if the main character’s spouse died.

These aren’t the movies people love. Okay, I’m sure someone out there loved these movies. But they aren’t the ones people were talking about. And before I get into my list of nominations I want to make it clear that I’m not saying these movies aren’t deserving of awards. I’m saying that the Oscars as they are presented, the highest prestige in Hollywood…they need to be about what’s popular.

The artsy dramas can have their own awards just like Sci-fi.

So with that…I give you my very own Oscar nominations.

Best Picture:

Star Wars: The Force Awakens
Avengers: Age of Ultron
Spectre
The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Pt 2
The Martian (Yay, one in common!)
Mad Max: Fury Road (Two!)

Best Actor/Actress in a Leading Role:

Harrison Ford – Star Wars: The Force Awakens
James Spader – Avengers: Age of Ultron
Eddie Redmayne – The Danish Girl (Three!)
Blue – Jurassic World (Hey! Velociraptors can win awards too.)
Daisy Ridley – Star Wars: The Force Awakens
Charlize Theron – Mad Max: Fury Road
Jennifer Lawrence – The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Pt 2

Best Actor/Actress in a Supporting Role:

Aaron Taylor-Johnson – Avengers: Age of Ultron
Oscar Isaac – Star Wars: The Force Awakens
Irrfan Khan – Jurassic World
Philip Seymour – The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Pt 2
Julianne Moore – The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Pt 2

Best Animated Feature Film:

Inside Out (Four)
Minions
Hotel Transylvania 2
The Peanuts Movie
The Good Dinosaur

Best Cinematography:

Mad Max: Fury Road
Star Wars: The Force Awakens
The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Pt 2
Ant-Man
Mad Max: Fury Road (Five)

Best Costume Design:

Mad Max: Fury Road
The Danish Girl (Six)
Star Wars: The Force Awakens
Spectre
Avengers: Age of Ultron

Best Directing:

George Miller – Mad Max: Fury Road (Seven)
JJ Abrahms – Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Best Documentary Feature/Short:

Going to be totally honest, I didn’t watch any documentaries in 2015. Anyone have any suggestions?

Best Film Editing:

Star Wars: The Force Awakens (Eight)
Mad Max: Fury Road (Nine)
Avengers: Age of Ultron

Best Foreign Language Film:

Once again a category I know nothing about.

Best Makeup and Hairstyling:

Mad Max: Fury Road (Ten!)
Star Wars: The Force Awakens
Avengers: Age of Ultron

Best Music – Original Song

Writing’s on the Wall – Spectre (Eleven)
Honestly, if I had it my way I’d skip this category entirely. But if I MUST pick one…that’d be it.

Best Music – Original Score

Star Wars: The Force Awakens
No other contenders. Straight up the winner.

Best Production Design:

Mad Max: Fury Road
The Martian (Twelve)
The Danish Girl (Thirteen)
Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Best Short Film – Live Action/ Animated:

Lava

Best Sound Editing/Mixing:

Star Wars: The Force Awakens (Thirteen!)
Mad Max: Fury Road (Fourteen)
Jurassic World

Best Visual Effects:

Ex Machina (Fifteen)
Mad Max: Fury Road (Sixteen)
The Martian (Seventeen)
Star Wars: The Force Awakens (Eighteen)
Avengers: Age of Ultron

Best Writing:

Star Wars: The Force Awakens
Inside Out (Nineteen)
Ex Machina (Twenty)

As you can see I combined a few categories. This was done for a few different reasons. I’m all for adding more categories but not at 1:30 in the morning. As you can see I gave Star Wars: The Force Awakens 13 nominations. Not bad considering I’m not a fan of Star Wars (Star Trek for life, yo).
Agree with my picks? Disagree? Think The Academy actually did a good job picking? Let me know in the comments below.
Winners will be picked the day of the Oscars.

 

On a final note, Z for Zachariah came out in August and only made $121,000. I didn’t even know it had come out yet! Extremely limited release it would seem. I’m going to have to hunt it down somewhere and watch it. More to come on that later.

Leave a Reply

