Not Being A Fangirl

Meeting a celebrity is hard. Either you fangirl out at them and you just become another one of the fans or you keep that fangirling to yourself and treat them like a human being and hopefully you can go on to become friends with them. So last week when I was faced with the prospect of meeting one of my favorite people in the gaming industry who had up until that point eluded me by being in California while I was in Ireland I was nervous. I didn’t want to be another fangirl. I didn’t want to geek out and scare him away. I’ve always thought that celebs of any sort need people who just treat them like people. They are after all just people.

Of course developers aren’t celebrities on the same scale as actors but that didn’t keep me from my glee. After watching him online doing broadcasts for City of Heroes I finally got to meet Andy Belford. Thankfully I managed to keep my cool. He even helped us get into the EA behind closed doors area when the people at the front desk had never heard of Dawngate. Seriously, we got asked if we meant to go to the Activision booth by the ladies controlling the front desk. They had never even heard of Dawngate, which I will just point out is most certainly an EA game.

So one of my three missions of Gamescom was a complete success.

Achievement Unlocked: Meet Andy Belford

Achievement Unlocked: Meet Andy Belford

 

This is me, posting twice in one day as I catch up on Blaugust because of Gamescom.

blaugust

Leave a Reply

