Handicap Travel

I’d like to start off by saying, yay! We made it to Cologne! So far the weather hasn’t been able to decide what to do. We’ve had heat, cold and rain. This was my first time ever traveling as someone in a wheelchair, so I’d like to talk about those experiences. We arrived in Dublin airport bright and early for our flight.  If you live in Dublin I highly recommend airporttaxi.ie. Its just a normal taxi but flat rates depending on where you’re at. It was €30 from Blackrock which is a total steal. Dropping off the luggage was fantastic. There was a line set aside for the handicapped so we sped right through. There were however two ladies who decided that my line was for them. Basically they cut in line and that pisses me off.

After that it was on to security which was a breeze. I got a quick pat down which was much less a violation of my body than the American pat down. Then it was time to board the plane. Because the plane wasn’t actually pulled up to a building I had to experience the box. Basically its a giant elevator on wheels. And for some afraid of heights it is hell. This was of course my first time in one and to say the guy fucked it up would be a huge undrstatement. First he lifted us too high and the plane door wouldn’t open. So he tried to lower us. Nothing worked. He tried for ages with no luck. Jonathan repeatedly suggested closing the door to see if that worked. Finally he did it. And got too low. So once again the door opened and he couldn’t get anything to work. Eventually I just had to do it. There was a huge gap between the platform and the plane. Two air hostesses pulled while Jonathan pushed and I was aboard. Somehow the guy never connected the dots. And the next woman who needed the box got a new box because the idiot thought mine was broken. The flight was hard. Anxiety and pain are the names of the game. Dusseldorf airport was great. They wouldn’t allow Jonathan to push me, some sort of regulations.

We later ran into the lady from the plane in Cologne. She’s here taking her kids to Gamescom. We helped each other navigate the confusing train system and even got to chat a bit about pain and things. I do hope I run into her again. Oh, and one final thing. If someone is in a wheelchair and your job is to help them get off the train, don’t let them get off at a station that has no elevator. Yep, this happened to me. And now food has arrived so I escape!

 

Blaugust for me will continue from Cologne for the rest of the week.

Leave a Reply

