When MMOs Invade Real Life

Wh40k_Armageddon

So, I had a bit of trouble today coming up with a topic, in fact I now have only 40 minutes to complete this in. DUN DUN DUUUUNNNN. Yeah, I’m good. Ok! So, while I was working today I happened to find an article on Reddit about a new Warhammer 40k game coming out called Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon. This wasn’t unusual in any way. In fact I’d heard about the game some time ago thanks to being press. What was unusual though was that the reddit link was to Independent.ie, an Irish newspaper’s website. Now, for those of you reading this who live in a large country you may be asking yourself something along the lines of, “What’s the big deal?” Ireland only has a population of 4.5 million people and it is safe to say most of them aren’t tech savvy. Jonathan and I went to a SOPA/PIPA protest a few years ago and I am not kidding, we were the oldest people there. All the others were teenagers or at best college students.

SOPA Protest

What does this have to do with the topic at hand? Well, there aren’t a lot of tech savvy people. There are even less gamers. Oh of course, console gaming is big. That’s a universal truth. But PC gaming? Online PC gaming at that, rare. So it pleased me to see this article if only because it means that gaming is gaining some ground. Digging deeper I found that they do post about games fairly often. Though it seems to mostly be one writer Frank Whelan. I immediately thought to myself, “Oooh I could write for them.” So um, Frank, if you see this…write me!

Anyway, that’s my little tale of MMOs invading the real world for this week. I’m amazed that it hit so close to home.

Edit: I completely forgot to mention that this is Day 5 of the Blaugust blogging marathon! Check out our awesome leader’s website for more info!

blaugust

One thought on “When MMOs Invade Real Life

  1. Pingback: RT @Lvrfmsc: Bwahahaha! 15 minutes to spare! When… | Belghast Does Things

Leave a Reply

