Youtube Makes Me Warm and Fuzzy

I love watching content on Youtube. In fact I watch more Youtube today than I do regular tv. And just like you may have a favorite tv show, I have favorite youtube shows and channels. Some of them include Convos With My 2 Year Old, TheFineBros (makers of Teens/Kids/Elders/Youtubers React), and many others. But there are two people who stand out to me more than the others. Two people who, not only want to entertain but they also want to make the world a better place. They are the VlogBrothers, John and Hank Green. They post amazing videos that are educational, thought provoking, and fun to watch. John Green is also a bestselling author (The Fault in our Stars) and in fact the film adaptation of the book is in theaters around the world now.

But there is one video, posted just yesterday that really hit me in a personal way. In the video John talks about deserving things and luck. He talked about how really the success of his film, the fact that he even has a film is all down to luck. That he is no more deserving of the success than than anyone else and that it is really luck that has brought him where he is.

It wasn’t until he talked about people believing that they deserve the bad things that happen to them that it really impacted me. I’ve been suffering with chronic back pain for more than half my life now. I’ve been dealing with it for so long now that I can’t remember a time when it wasn’t there in some way. This past week I’ve been having an especially rough time with it. And as you can imagine living with constant pain can get quite depressing. And though I’ve never quite directly believed I deserve the pain I have always thought that it was my fault that I’ve had to suffer. That because I didn’t make the right choices in my life to keep myself healthy and active I brought it on myself.

But watching the video…it was like John was speaking directly to me. He said to me I don’t deserve to be in pain. I don’t deserve the every day struggle that I go through just to make a sandwich or walk to the bathroom. In that moment I was brought back to my childhood, Watching Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood. Mr. Rogers always knew how to talk to his audience. He knew how to make me feel loved and like he was himself talking directly to me. John Green is the new Mister Rogers.

This video was exactly what I needed. I got a little choked up while watching it but it was a big boost to help battle the depression that goes with my pain. Because someone out there, a complete stranger knows that I don’t deserve this and he cares enough to let me know.

So John, I don’t know if you’ll ever read this…but if you do I want to say thank you for being my neighbor.

One thought on “Youtube Makes Me Warm and Fuzzy

  1. Ohhh yes, chronic pain and depression, I know these well. 😀

    We really need to abandon the Calvinist idea that we deserve the pain we feel because we’ve done something bad we’re not even aware of. Especially when we’re atheists (as I am)…

    “Shit happens” is an accurate summation of life. It scares some – I find it oddly comforting.

Leave a Reply

